Sad Day for Butler University

9 06 2008

I just opened my email and what did I see? An email from Dr. Levester Johnson to the Butler Campus stating that they had successfully found a new Assistant Pres. of Student Services and that he would be replaced by another person. Not that I really care, I’m gonna be out in 2 months, but still, he was a part of my positive Butler experience (I most definitely have a neg. exp. too) and it pains me to know that other students (especially black students) will not get the opportunity to meet LJ.

LJ - Butler Univ.

Butler’s not the most racially diverse university—in students or faculty/staff. I can count on two hands the number of black faculty/staff (not including Aramark hah) that I know of at the entire university. I believe there are 8. There might be a few that I’ve never met, but that number can’t surpass 3 or so. In any case, the loss of Dr. J as a staff person is more significant than I’m sure the University is willing to admit.

(The new person is a woman, so I guess the university feels like they’re filling their minority/EOE quota. But on Butler’s campus, being a woman puts you in the majority.  They need to get rid of someone like Irene Stevens or Becky Druetzler.)

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 06 2008
eromedome22

Dang! Where is LJ going? That is a huge loss for Butler.

11 06 2008
Anonymous

The new Dean of Student Services is replacing another employee who has left. LJ isn’t going anywhere for the time being.

12 06 2008
queenofthejungle

Ahhh, good That’s the best news today!

Leave a Reply

