I remember when…

19 05 2008

Cd’s are cool. Computers are great. Websites and the internet are even better. iPods/mp3 players are the best. But what do I miss?

  • I miss watching my Dad put a record on the turntable.
  • I miss the scratches that gave his record collection a certain soul and character beyond the actual song being played.
  • I miss cassette decks.
  • I miss sitting in my room, drawing or reading…just waiting for that new hot joint to come on the radio.
  • I miss hearing that new song on the radio, getting excited and jumping up off my bed to go press the record button on my dual cassette deck tape player.
  • I miss real mixtapes. Not even mix CDs…mixtapes.
  • I miss giving a mixtape to someone to let them know how you felt about them, or to remind them of the good times.

Muxtape, podcasts and all those things are wonderful, but there’s nothing like giving/receiving a mixtape. Knowing that someone put a certain amount of thought and a whole lot of effort into that creation was something special. And can’t even be touched by a website. Your mouse goes: click, click, click, and done. Not even close.

I miss my childhood. Those were the really good days. And the crazy thing is, it wasn’t that long ago…a quarter of my life has passed.

We just don’t live long enough…

Cassette Love

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 05 2008
eromedome22

oh yes, i love that memory. recording songs off the radio… good ish

26 05 2009
jrw

True. The effort one puts forth in making a mixed tape or WRITING a letter seems to have been lost…props to those who keep that alive!

Leave a Reply

