Fun + Eclectic

17 05 2008

I love music. But even more, I love sharing music with others.

My Morning JacketMy Morning Jacket

This band is my hippie guilty pleasure. I learned about this band back in 2003. During Block Party my freshman year, I was an eager 18-year-old trying to get her hands on every free item she could come across. At the NUVO table, there were 3 CD samplers and even though I’m pretty sure the sign said “take one”, I took all three (Yes, I’m awesome). One of these samplers included this song:

My Morning Jacket – Run Thru

I don’t know why, but I instantly fell in love with My Morning Jacket. I got as much of their music as I could find; I became slightly obsessed. So much so, that at Lollapalooza 2006, I sat in the grass, the lone black girl, listening to My Morning Jacket play to a sparse yet dedicated crowd of fans.

Here’s some new music from them:

My Morning Jacket – Evil Urges

___________________________________________________________________________

Ladytron

LadytronElectro is one of the (many) subgenres of electronic music that I enjoy. Electroclash, electro-breaks, electrorock…whatever the sub-subgenre, I generally like it all. Ladytron is one group that creates great electro that is well-executed—in other words doesn’t sound like that awful tone that you hear when you call number and get a fax machine on the other end.

Here’s the song that got me into them:

Ladytron – True Mathematics

And here’s a new track from them:

Ladytron – Black Cat

__________________________________________________________________________

AtmosphereAtmosphere

Everyone loves Atmosphere. (And if you don’t, you should.)

Atmosphere entered my music repertoire in the summer of 2003, right before attending Butler. There were two songs, from the album, Lucy Ford, that drew me to them:

1. Atmosphere – Aspiring Sociopath

2. Atmosphere – Don’t Ever Fucking Question That
And my favorites from the latest album, When Life Gives You Lemons, You Paint That Shit Gold:

Atmosphere – Shoulda Known

Atmosphere – Wild Wild Horses (I love the 2nd verse.)

__________________________________________________________________________

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

